Santa’s Sausage Sizzle
November 6, 2012
Brothers Chronicles – Issue 10
November 24, 2012

AGM 2012

The 2012 Brothers Rugby Club AGM took place on 4th Sunday 2012 in the Orchard.

A large crowd was in attendance, and a vote even took place over committee members. It’s been a long time since that’s happened. It’s great to see members young and old attending and looking to get involved in the running and organising of the club. It is very encouraging for the future management of the club.

The club would like to put out a special mention to the following:

Scott James who has served as President since 2010 and given so much of his time. He has overseen so many changes in the Club during these times. Scott won’t be going away, and will be helping out during the season.

Charles Kilby for filling the Treasurers role before his overseas trip.

Tania for all of her work in helping with the preparation of end of year financial records and her assistance in handing over to the new committee.

Two new life members were inducted into the Brothers Hall Of Fame.

Andy Losurdo
Andy is one of our original club members from 1947 and played in the following Premiership sides:
1947 B Grade
1948 B Grade
1951 Burke Cup
1957 Undefeated Premiers Anderson Shield
He coached numerous CBOB sides over the years including the 1954 First Grade Premiership side and the 1977 Burke Cup side.
He was President of the club in 1956. Our club did not field sides from 1960 to 1963 and Andy was known as the “keeper of our colours and jersey” and paid out of his own pocket to keep them registered during this time. Andy was also involved with several other members in the revival of the club in 1963 and the subsequent entry of an Under 21 side in the 1964 season.

Michael “Pickle” Wren
Pickle’s record speaks for itself, with over 400 games for the club and 32 years of giving it his all on the pitch. That combined with his leadership on and off the pitch made ensured his nomination for life membership was unanimously carried. The nomination was put forward by Adrian Brannan and an enthusiastic and heartfelt recommendation was read out by Adrian at the AGM. Congratulations Pickle, and here’s to another 400 games potentially.

The following executive appointments were made on the day.

Executive Committee:
President: Ian Gibson
Vice President: Greg Johnson
Secretary: Ian Meers
Treasurer: Wlod Kozlowski

Ordinary Members:
Dave Taylor – Heading up Sponsorship and Marketing Division – assisted by George Padovan
Marty Nichols – Heading up the Rugby Division (every thing to do with that happens on the Rugby playing field)
Hans Krenmayr – Heading up what is known as the ‘House Division” which looks after many of the things that need to go on off the Rugby playing field.

The Committee also took the very important step of appointing:
Niall O’Riordan – Events and Communications, assisted by Andy Carroll
Tom Burns – Coach of 1st grade and Coaching Co-ordinator
Adrian Brannan – Co-ordinate all things with the Colts
Ian Meers – Rugby Secretary
John Andrews – Internal Co-ordinator and consultant for Committee Members
George Padovan – Assisting with the Sponsorship and Marketing Division

We are also pleased to advise that our coaching panel is confirmed as follows:
1st Grade – Tom Burns
COLTS – Greg Lee
2nd Grade – Mick (Brute) Williams
3rd Grade – Andy Carroll
4th Grade – Ian Meers

The AGM was immediately followed up with an Executive Meeting to deal with immediate business and to get straight onto planning activities to ensure a continuity from now through Christmas, New Year, pre-season and the 2013 Rugby season.

The next Executive Meeting is to be held next week Monday 12 November.

brothersrugby on Twitter
Latest Tweet: Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
314 people follow brothersrugby
Twitter Pic WestHarb Twitter Pic idefineh Twitter Pic Lansdown Twitter Pic rugbycol Twitter Pic GaryRya9 Twitter Pic MrTendot Twitter Pic American Twitter Pic FNCRugby